Album cover By all Means - Diverge and Ethix
By all MeansDiverge and Ethix7/10

Diverge and Ethix - By all Means

25 May 2008 row1

By All Means is the debut album from the Colorado hip hop duo Diverge and Ethix who have opened for acts such as GZA and Blackalicious.

The one (and only?) good thing about MySpace is that it allows any artist to get their name and sound out there without any major cost. All you have to do is upload a few photos, some mp3s, maybe a video or two and bang you have got yourself an instant promo site and a fan base. Diverge and Ethix are a perfect example of talented musicians able to utilize it.

The album is summed up on the track 'Why We Came' where D&E describe their journey, their love of hip hop and their future. And that's what the album appears to be about, making an album for the love of it and not just to get some radio play. The strong back and forth between Diverge and Ethix on the mic further emphasises this. In fact one of the albums strongest points is the back and forth interaction between the two mc's (and guests), each leveraging off each other to take their own delivery higher.

The production is solid, mixing Hip Hop with a bit of Classical, Jazz and Latin flavours. While the production is of a high quality I haven't yet found myself too inspired by any of it.

I don't know if it's just me, but these days a lot of groups or guest spots seem to just mail in their delivery to the producer without even being in the same room as the other mc, giving the track a very disjoint sound; so I applaud Diverge, Ethix and their guests for keeping the classic hip hop back and forth sound.
The guest spots do add value to the album and help keep things interesting. My biggest gripe about the album is the production, while there is nothing wrong with it I just didn't find anything too memorable or anything to get me extra excited about it.
Overall a good album, just lacking a bit of X factor in the production.

Sardless Tracks

  • Pristine
  • Never Here
  • Why we Came

Track Listing

  1. 3 below
  2. Del Feugo
  3. My Day feat. Pep Love
  4. Operator
  5. Shine with me
  6. Set you Free feat. Natalie Ray
  7. The System
  8. Walked that Path
  9. Pristine feat. Zion I
  10. Blind Angel
  11. Spittin Math feat. Sleep and <br/> Black Pegasus
  12. How Much
  13. Never Here<br/>feat. Dent
  14. Whirlwind <br/>feat. Natalie Ray
  15. A Song
  16. Why We Came
  17. Cant Stop Now<br/>feat. Natalie Ray