Album cover Madvillainy - MF DOOM and Madlib as Madvillain
MadvillainyMF DOOM and Madlib as Madvillain9/10

MF DOOM and Madlib as Madvillain - Madvillainy

22 May 2006 row1

Underground legends MF DOOM and Madlib team up for the best album of 2004 and one of the best collaborations ever!

The album was originally leaked in 2002 "wasn't even tweaked and it leaked into cyberspace" and then revised for the 2004 release.

Madlib produces some of the most detailed beats you'll ever hear, a year later and I'm still picking up samples I had never noticed before.
Meanwhile DOOM raps about one long verse per song. The songs average in at about 2 minutes each.
I've read a lot of reviews complaining that the songs are too short, only have a verse or so each and don't flow well into each other ... obviously these people are just used to hearing the same formula over and over. The style of the album is different and works very well.

DOOM's flow is probably at his peak on this album, as usual he's rather laid back but seems a bit more grimy on this album (especially compared to Danger Doom). Probably my favourite MF DOOM album and one of the best albums released in years.
Pick it up before it's price sky rockets like Doomsday did; and while your at it check out the remixes and the bootleg.

Sardless Tracks

  • Accordion
  • Figaro
  • Rhinestone Cowboy

Track Listing

  1. The Illest Villains
  2. Accordion
  3. Meat Grinder
  4. Bistro
  5. Raid
  6. Americas Most Blunted
  7. Sickfit (Instrumental)
  8. Rainbows
  9. Curls
  10. Do Not Fire! (Instrumental)
  11. Money Folder
  12. Shadows Of Tomorrow
  13. Operation Lifesaver/Mint Test
  14. Figaro
  15. Hardcore Hustle
  16. Strange Ways
  17. Fancy Clown
  18. Eye
  19. Supervillain Theme <br/>(Instrumental)
  20. ALL CAPS
  21. Great Day
  22. Rhinestone Cowboy
  23. <strong>VIDEO</strong> ALL CAPS